School news

Celebrating 126 years of Collective Greatness, SBISD Council of PTAs hosts annual Founders’ Day Celebration



Wilchester Elementary School art teacher Stephanie Walton received the SBISD Council of PTAs School Bell Award during the annual Founders’ Day Celebration on Thursday, Feb. 16 at Landrum Middle School. Four individuals also received Honorary Lifetime Membership Awards.

The School Bell Award is the Council’s annual top recognition. Walton was among 22 outstanding educators nominated for the School Bell Award.

(View all nominees and new PTA Lifetime Members below.)

Sponsored by the Spring Branch ISD Council of PTAs, the annual Founders’ Day dinner honors and recognizes parent volunteers who serve on campus or district PTA organizations, parents who have served campus PTAs for many years and local educators and staff nominated for a prestigious School Bell Award.

Locally, the SBISD Council of PTAs represents thousands of parents and families. It is an active grassroots group supporting the ongoing vitality and strength of SBISD schools.

Founders’ Day is celebrated in memory of a February 1897 meeting held in Washington, D.C., the first-ever meeting of the Parent Teacher Association (PTA) in the United States.

The Feb. 16 dinner included a brief greeting by SBISD Superintendent Dr. Jennifer Blaine.  The program also included remarks by SBISD Council of PTAs leaders Dominique Harvey, president; Anne Moran, Awards Chair; and Elena Mischon, Founders’ Day Chair.

Committee chairs were Georgia Polley, Jenette Sears, Anne Moran, Elena Mischon, Pam Ferworn, Jen Perroni, Jen Espey and Susan Marks.

The Founders’ Day event was made possible through support from campus and local business groups. These included Athleta, First Community Credit Union, Dr. Jennifer Blaine, Pam Ferworn, Dominique Harvey, Gina Keith, Elena Mischon, Roy Moore, Jenette Sears, Rosalinda Vega and Landrum Middle School.

2022-23 School Bell Award Nominees

School Bell Award nominees represent outstanding SBISD staff members who promote the purposes of the PTA and advocate for all children.

Patricia Baxter - Cedar Brook Elementary

Christine Bruner - Valley Oaks Elementary

Teresa Cienfuegos - Terrace Elementary

Sarah Dale - Nottingham Elementary

Melissa Elrod - Pine Shadows Elementary

Nicole Evans - Memorial Middle School 

Lindsey Faleiro - Westchester Academy

Laura Fuller - Stratford High School

Assael Guzman - Sherwood Elementary

Nidhal Hamza - Memorial Drive Elementary

Martha Jacinto - Spring Forest Middle School

Jennie Kim - Frostwood Elementary

William Kirkland - Buffalo Creek Elementary 

Shirley Labiosa - Meadow Wood Elementary

Lisa Mansfield - Bunker Hill Elementary

Dr. Molly Nipper - Bendwood Elementary

Juli Pendergrass - Cornerstone Academy

Robyne Petitt - Rummel Creek Elementary

Kristian "Krissy" Scott - Hunters Creek Elementary

Claudia Villarreal - Spring Woods Senior High

Stephanie Walton - Wilchester Elementary

Jennifer Young - Memorial High School

2022-23 PTA Lifetime Members

Lifetime Member Award recipients are selected by school PTAs and represent outstanding volunteers or educators who generously give their time, expertise and enthusiasm.

Dr. Jennifer Blaine - SBISD Superintendent 

Dominique Harvey - SBISD Council of PTAs President

Georgia Polley - SBISD Council of PTAs Chair, Advocacy

Morgan Scholl 

SBISD Council of PTAs Executive Officers

Dominique Harvey - President

Heather Bonner - VP Programs

Linda Dang - VP Leadership

Leslie Valentine - VP Membership

Aimee Donnel - Secretary

Kelly Siblik - Treasurer

Bibbin Gill - Parliamentarian